Counterflow Chiller & Whirlpool Arm - Avoiding O2?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Unicorn_Platypus

Urine I Pee... Eh?
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I'm new to LODO, but very interested in giving it a shot. How do you avoid pumping the air that is in the lines & in the counterflow chiller into your wort when you first turn on the pump? Am I better off just sticking to an immersion chiller & avoiding a whirlpool all together to keep it simple?

P.S. I am in the process of designing a new system for myself so not married to either immersion or counterflow. However, since I will have a pump my preference would be counterflow & whirlpool arm if easy enough to make it work

LODO is most important after fermentation. Yeast need the O2 to get going and eat it up in fermentation. So don't worry about your whole process prior to the fermenter. After the ferment is where you want to keep the O2 away.

So bottom line is go with whatever chiller you want!

LODO is most important after fermentation. Yeast need the O2 to get going and eat it up in fermentation. So don't worry about your whole process prior to the fermenter. After the ferment is where you want to keep the O2 away.

So bottom line is go with whatever chiller you want!

Historically most homebrewers only gave attention to cold side oxidation. There's a newer school of thought that also gives attention to reducing hot side dissolved O2.

The thought is that this preserves "fresh malt" aromas that are important for styles like German lagers. Some argue that this also benefits shelf life of other styles as well.

Almost everyone would agree that preventing cold side oxidation is far more important than hotside. Great beers can still be made even in the presence of HSA.