How clean is enough?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

newbies13

Reaction score
So I am new to home brewing, my first batch is in it's second stage of fermentation now.

My question though is about the cleaning and more specifically sanitizing of equipment. It seems to be a pretty standard theme across all brewing sites and videos that you must sanitize everything and nearly anything could ruin your beer. But then the guys saying this in videos are brewing... outside... or in a nasty garage next to their rusty cars, etc. and they all claim to have tasty beer with multiple carboys of it going constantly.

So my question is, how serious a risk is it really that your beer will go bad? The way everyone talks you would think they were making microchips, not beer. :drunk:

One example I ran into was the lid for my containers, after sanitizing them I had no where to put them down, since I hadn't sanitized any tables to put them on, but then there is air circulation in my house, so how long would the surface stay sanitized!! ha

It is a big deal. I'm careful about sanitization and lost a batch 2 weeks ago. Still don't know where it went wrong, but wrong it went (as is evidenced by tonight's first taste). :mad: My LHBS guy says I made a nice sour beer (I hate sours, and don't think there is anything "nice" about them at all!).