Cooper's IPA

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tatty808

Reaction score
Hi All,
I'm fairly new to brewing. I have made a wherry and a cider which went really well. So, I made a Cooper's IPA on Monday and by Thursday there seems to be no bubbling or activity. Question is, I have some yeast from a Cooper's lager and was wondering if it would be ok to add it to the IPA and get the Brew started again? Didn't check the SG so can't rely on that to tell me if it finished.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

I dont know much about these cooper kits. I would think getting the OG isnt as important as the FG since this is basically an extract kit so your OG is predestined. Does the instructions have what the predicted OG and FG are supposed to be? The only way you'll know when it's done is checking with a hydrometer. Dont add more yeast. You need to see where it's at.

Btw welcome to the forum and the hobby !

Hi All,
I'm fairly new to brewing. I have made a wherry and a cider which went really well. So, I made a Cooper's IPA on Monday and by Thursday there seems to be no bubbling or activity. Question is, I have some yeast from a Cooper's lager and was wondering if it would be ok to add it to the IPA and get the Brew started again? Didn't check the SG so can't rely on that to tell me if it finished.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2 things to think about.
1. Ale yeasts act pretty fast. The major part of the fermentation may be done in 3 days. After that period there is no more CO2 being produced by the yeast.
2. Many fermenters leak a little, not enough to keep it from bubbling in the fast part of the fermentation but when it slows down the airlock stops bubbling.