Bottling Rant

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I put a sanitized lid on my bucket when bottling.

so do I. I always have. I've also found with kids around, nothing gets thrown in while bottling. car keys, Sponge Bob toys, and rubber snakes & spiders do not belong in bottling buckets. no matter what your kids think.

Never had a problem, your beer is out several times in the process of bottling. But no worries either way.

This....if it's taking more than an hour to bottle, you're doing something wrong. It's not bottling, it's HOW you bottle.

Read my bottling sticky for ideas.

For one thing you shouldn't be drying you bottles.

I'm a noob and this is the thread that I read. Have bottled two batches and both took about 90 mins. each

I just bought a 2 keg system. I'm looking forward to beer on tap.

What I hate about bottling is the one chance shot you have at getting the carbonation where you want it. In kegging if it's a bit flat you can up the psi or the reverse. In bottling you got one chance to get it right, then you have to deal with what you got for 2 cases. You can also have carbed beer in a few days vs 3 weeks.

What I hate about bottling is the one chance shot you have at getting the carbonation where you want it. In kegging if it's a bit flat you can up the psi or the reverse. In bottling you got one chance to get it right, then you have to deal with what you got for 2 cases. You can also have carbed beer in a few days vs 3 weeks.

It's difficult for you to use a chart to calculate how much sugar to use???? Bottle carbing's not rocket science. You add the right amount of sugar, keep the beer around 70 degrees, WAIT and bob's your uncle.