sanitizing mason jars for frozen/cold water addition

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brewpood

Reaction score
Newbie here, about to brew my third batch with extract. I add cold water to the boiled wort since I don't yet have a pot big enough for a full boil. The first time I used bagged ice to top up the wort, and the second time I prepared my own cold water to add to the wort. To prepare the cold water, I first boiled some wide-mouthed Mason jars, lids, and rings, filtered water into the jars, sealed them up, and then put them in the freezer for later use.

Could I skip the step of boiling the Mason jars and just fill them with filtered water after I've soaked them in a Starsan solution instead?

I'm also going to shake up the jars as I prepare them this time, so that the water will be aerated. I learned that somewhere on here, and it sounds like a neat trick.

Thanks!

brewpood said:
Newbie here, about to brew my third batch with extract. I add cold water to the boiled wort since I don't yet have a pot big enough for a full boil. The first time I used bagged ice to top up the wort, and the second time I prepared my own cold water to add to the wort. To prepare the cold water, I first boiled some wide-mouthed Mason jars, lids, and rings, filtered water into the jars, sealed them up, and then put them in the freezer for later use.

Could I skip the step of boiling the Mason jars and just fill them with filtered water after I've soaked them in a Starsan solution instead?

I'm also going to shake up the jars as I prepare them this time, so that the water will be aerated. I learned that somewhere on here, and it sounds like a neat trick.

Thanks!