So...How's this for a rookie Fck up?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
So, there I am...I have just finished by 3rd batch. Grabbed a sample, I'm confident everything is clean, the smell is amazing. All I need to do is put the airlock on and stash it away and in a few weeks, I should have some amazing IIPA.

Wait a second....the bung won't stay put.

Try as I might, trying both of the bung's I have. They won't stay put.

Okay...no biggie, everything is just wet and slippery....this is my first time using star san and it's just the fact that I didn't rinse and let it all dry first. Once it dries...it's all good.

The bung still won't stay...what is going on??? Okay....I'll just hold it in place, it'll dry and then it'll stay....no worries.

PLOP!!!!

Oh...is that the rubber bung....IN MY BEER???

I'm seriously depressed right now...I can't imagine there is any way this batch isn't ruined....I mean it's got a rubber plug floating in it and I have no idea how I'll get it out. I seriously can't believe I did that....especially since, after I had my little freak out moment and walked away for a few minutes, my second bung and airlock pushed right in and stayed in place perfectly......

My first batch was mediocre at best, my second is still flat after 8+ weeks and now I fear I've just wrecked my third batch, which is doomed to taste like rubber.

Not sure I'm cut out for this....

I've heard of this happening and the beers turn out fine with people leaving the stopper in the carboy. It happens enough that you can go on youtube and search "remove stopper from carboy" and you'll get several videos on using a plastic bag to get the stopper out.

Hahahaha , u totally messed up! Completely ruined batch. You'll never be a home brewer, hahahaha .