Headache with a particular batch

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Setesh

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
Has anyone ever had a particular batch of beer that gave you headaches?
I searched through the forum and found a few people who thought particular yeast strains gave them headaches. This batch used WLP002 which I've used before for Milds and ESBs with no problems. I hate to pour the batch out but it's absolutely pointless to drink beer that gives you headaches. I just want to keep it from happening again. Any ideas as to the cause?

Here is the history of the batch:
I've been brewing for about 8 years now. I will usually brew 3 batches on a Saturday when the pipeline starts getting low. I did 3 batches on 4/6/13. An English Mild, a Hefe, and a brown ale. I never get any headaches with my beers, even after 2-3 back to back, but this English Mild gives me a headache even if I only have half a glass. It was fermented alongside the Hefe and brown ale in my Keezer at 62 ambient and left in primary for 3 weeks before Kegging. I put them all on gas on May 11th and have been drinking them since then. I noticed the headache the first time I tried the Mild, but chalked it up to dehydration or some other reason. After a while a pattern formed, have Mild - get headache.

Typically it is associated with fusel alcohols that are produced during fermentation. Given enough conditioning time these will subside and you will no longer developers head aches:)

Typically it is associated with fusel alcohols that are produced during fermentation. Given enough conditioning time these will subside and you will no longer developers head aches:)