Custom Starter Brewing Kit

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

emeelio

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I have been looking around for kits but I am not satisfied with any I see 100%. I am a complete newbie but I want to use the best I can afford. I sort of like this one http://www.northernbrewer.com/shop/...er-kits/1-gallon-small-batch-starter-kit.html but I would like to see if I can find better tubes, airlock, etc. I like that the fermenter is made of glass, which I want (and I want to start small too, 1 gallon will be perfect for me).

Could you help me find quality, within-budget parts that are better than what I see on that website? If those kits cost $50, I am willing to add $50 - $75 more to get better equipment. Regarding a recipe, I am looking for to make a good IPA but I believe I will be going to my local supplier for that.

Thanks!

it looks like that kit comes with a "recipe" although i am not sure what it is. If you are worried about the quality of the components there, i would advise you not to be. Reason being because a glass vessel is a glass vessel, an airlock is an airlock. I would not worry about cutting corners on equipment quality with this kit.

What you need to worry about is the process that you use to make the beer. This kit looks like it includes an extract recipe. You are best off starting with an extract recipe, but you could also add more flexibility with this kit later by getting into partial mash or mini Brew In A Bag type brewing. with brew in a bag, you will have much more control over every aspect of your beer, but with that comes added complexity and more ways to mess up a batch.