Clear this concept: bottle conditioning vs. just having a bunch of beer on hand

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

woozy

Reaction score
With all the talk of how long to bottle and can you condition to long, I have to confess to always having been confused about one thing. Once a beer has aged hasn't it become ... well, a bottle of beer? I mean, before I started brewing if I bought a case of commercial beer I'd put it in the cupboard until I was ready to put it in the fridge. It never occurred to me that it'd be continuing to condition, over conditioning, and going bad. I most have some beers that are *years* old.

So whenever I heard talk "I opened this beer after six days and it's lousy"/"Let it condition for a couple weeks, idiot" I always figure "Um, let it condition till it's done. Then just let it be a beer that's stored in the closet until you are ready to drink it; what's the big issue".

Now people talk of final conditioning in the fridge for a few days. I figured this was for clearing appearances. I've always just treated this as the "i'm putting it in the fridge so I'll drink it in a day or two" phase. My thinking being: Maybe my beers should condition for a week more. Or maybe they're done. Well, I'll just put the ones I want to drink in the fridge. The remaining beers will sit here and continue to age if they need it, or will sit on the shelf if they are done aging.