With bottles back sweetened+primed, how long to let carbonate before pasteurizing?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

funky_brewster

Reaction score
Hey folks,

I'm still learning the ropes to cider making and enjoy the different challenges from brewing beer. My last batch is one made from apple juice concentrate (topped off with the appropriate amount of water) along with 5 lbs of pasteurized fresh apples in the primary using Nottingham dry yeast. The OG was somewhere in the neighborhood of 1.055.

About a week into the primary, I juiced another 5 lbs of apples and pasteurized the juice and flesh then pitched it all into the fermenter, hoping to retain some fresh apple flavor. Unfortunately, I let the thing fully ferment out and it was dry as a bone at 1.003.

To salvage, at bottling we did a back sweeten+priming with apple juice. We used a ratio of 1.5 oz per 12 oz collected in the bottling bucket, and 38 ounces for priming (108 oz in total). The plan is to let the bottles carbonate long enough to get proper volumes CO2, but not so long that they're explosive. I'll be using the stovetop bottle pasteurization method detailed in the forum's sticky post.

My question is: about how long do you think the bottles need to carbonate before we kill the yeast? Looking for somewhere in the neighborhood of 2.5-3 volumes CO2.

Thanks for your input!

It's hard to say. It could be one day, or three weeks. It depends on the activity of the yeast and the temperature and so on.

I'd put one in a plastic soda bottle and check it daily until it was hard. Once that happens, it's time to pasteurize.

If you have already bottled, and don't have a plastic "tester", then the only way to know is to chill one down and then open it and check.