Cane Suger

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jtrux

Reaction score
I have a pale ale that is 4 days into active fermentation and the blowoff tube has slowed to a burp every 2 seconds. I’m thinking of adding cane suger to boost abv a bit. Will adding 9% suger drastically effect the flavor? My original recipe was 7lbs DME. I’m wanting to add 9oz suger now, then 2 oz for priming giving 11 oz total or about 9%.

Also I just started brewing in the garage bc wife thinks it makes the house stink. Is it normal for your brew pot to be full of soot when using propane burners

Thanks

Sugar: yup, it will raise the ABV. it will not taste the same as had you just used more malt. sugar is kind of a "dry" or "brut" taste. I find it more "chemical" tasting. your tastes may vary. might be cheaper and quicker to just throw a few shots of everclear into the finished brew.

Soot: yup, especially when the burner is not adjusted correctly. try adjusting your air intake for a nice blue flame with no yellow. that should help some.

That's too much sugar to just goose it a little. Might not be too much sugar if you planned on it from the start. (I know that's pretty much a non-answer) You didn't give enough information about your recipe for us to give you a straight answer. Adding sugar will make it boozier and dryer without otherwise affecting the flavor much. Lately I've started adding an ounce or two of sugar when I transfer the beer from a bucket (primary) to a carboy (secondary) to wake the yeast up. But 9 oz (assuming a 5 gallon batch) is a lot. It still might be okay...

Thanks for the reply. The recipe used was:

4oz crystal malt, in 1/2 gallon water mashed at 150 for 30min

3lbs extra light DME at 60min
1 oz cascade at 60min
1/2 pearle at 15min