Can I

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jolly

Reaction score
Hello fellow members I’m new to brewing beer I’ve been brewing cider from scratch for about 8 years get it to about 14% my question is I’ve got a brew kit Belgian ale can I add hops to it while fermenting I have citra hops would this work or just ruin my whole brew ??? Thanks in advance for any advice regards Jolly

Do you mean adding hops while it's boiling or while it's fermenting (dry hopping)? If this is your first beer brew, I'd recommend just following the kit instructions as those are designed to be a certain style. If you wanted to use your hops, I'd recommend getting a pale ale kit and using the Citra as a dry hop.

While it’s fermenting sorry don’t know any of the terminology it’s a Belgian ale I love the triple hop Duvel trying to replicate that would it work ??

Sure, dry hopping is super common and can impart really intense hop aromas and flavors if you do it at the right time with the right hops and then package carefully to avoid oxidation. Citra sounds good and should work well.

Please explain when would be the right time? And oxidisation do you mean while fermenting and or when bottling sorry if this sounds dumb

which one of you is trolling me? lol

yes you can add hops to the fermenter, it's called dry hopping.....

edit: it's kind of a waste of hops though...hops are expensive, and as long as you boil them for bittering, you get enough preserviative power from that, dry hopping will only add flavor.....:confused:

And Welcome, fellow Jolly'er!!

Last edited:
Please explain when would be the right time? And oxidisation do you mean while fermenting and or when bottling sorry if this sounds dumb