Mead off to a very slow start

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

poptarts

Reaction score
I think there is an issue, but then again I'm a noob so who knows. So made a mead or cyser or call it what you will 48 hours ago.

Recipe was 5 gallons of apple juice (Mots) and ~11LB Honey. Starting OG was 1120. I added 6 campden tablets and let gave it a big stir for 10 mins or so and let it sit for 24 hrs. Next day pitched 2 packs of 1118 and 6 tsp nut and 3 tsp of energizer.

We are now 24 hours past that point and I'm seeing around 1 bubble every 60 seconds or so. Is this normal? What to do?

Mead does not always have a high krausen and can look uneventfull. However don't underestimate 1118 yeast. I bet it will eat through those fermentables in no time and you will check the gravity again in under two weeks to see it bone dry.

Yea everyone says that 1118 is a monster, I was just expecting some monster belching action out of the primary, not some dainty fairy bubbles.

Did you rehydrate your lil friends before pitching them in? Maybe they're having trouble with the sulfites...
Is it possible that you have a pH problem? Can you measure it? Below 3.2 can make it hard for the yeast, I think...

Didnt rehydrate, i should have done that at the very least or made a starter (have one brewing now). What do you do for low PH, i have a meter but I dont know what I would add to up it

People say that potassium carbonate is the best chemical for raising pH in mead. You can try calcium carbonate too, but it may leave some residual chalk taste, I heard...
But first, measure it (and tell us, we're curious people :D) to be sure that it's too low. If it gets too high, it can be bad too...