Need Help!! Bottling from a Barrel??

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brux

Reaction score
Howdy homebrewers! This my first post to the forum.... stoked to finally take the plunge!

Anyway, I've been aging a beer for six months in a blue corn whiskey barrel and have tasted it using the "Vinnie Nail" trick and it is ready to go. The base was a saison, single hopped with Belma (<30 IBUs), and primary fermentation with a blend of Belgian/ French Saison Strains. Halfway through Primary, I added an apple, ginger, honey syrup to add food for critters and hopefully complexity.

Racked it to the 5 gal Oak whiskey barrel, through in some bugs (wyeast lambic blend & additional Lactobacillus delbruekii). 5 months in, added Fresh Bing Cherries, and it is delicious. Mild strong tropical ethyl butyrate presence, dry, oaky, mild whiskey presence, mildly sour (too high IBUS?) with a "funky' undertone.

My question is, how the hell do I bottle it? Do I bottle Pellicle and all? Its my understanding that I leave the pellicle and bottle from the bottom. There is no spigot, just a nail hole i've used for sampling. Should I just use some tubing through the nail hole and have it take hours? Can I insert a spigot? Any help would be great, cheers!

You can rack it to a bottling bucket with an autosiphon then allow it to sit in the bucket for one or two days to allow the beer to settle.

Is the gravity of the beer stable? Even if it is falling slowly, that can cause lots of excess carbonation. Also barrel aged beers often have lower residual dissolved CO2, for an aged out sour we tend to aim ~.4 volumes higher than we would otherwise.