Boiling wine

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wineforsteve

Reaction score
Im a beginner and would like to get something clarified. I have a red that started at 15% potential and plan to fermentate for a week. After that period Ill siphon it. My question is that at this point I want to boil the wine at 150-160 degrees in order to kill the yeast and bottle. Im not too concerned with flavor but am wondering the best way to do this? Ive heard 140 kills yeast and that the boiling point of alcohol is 173. I want to know what to measure tempreture with, what pot to use, how long etc.

My only expectations are a wine with a similar alcoholic content, the yeast killed

You probably don't want to do anything to inhibit yeast after one week. If it's anything like beer, the yeast still have some clean up work to do, even after primary fermentation is complete.
The (very difficult) trick to wine is to make it and forget about it for a few months before you worry about killing/inhibiting yeast. At that point, most people use k meta and potassium sorbate to keep the yeast at bay.
Hope that helps

Well with my past wines they get around 2-3% potential within a week and im happy with the taste and would like to bottle it at that point without worrying about explosions. I was thinking about boiling it in a crockpot since the temp is easily set on mine. Should i leave it between 150-160 for just a few minutes or do the yeast die quickly at this point?

It's a personal choice, and if you're happy with the taste at a week, go for it. I think the yeast will be killed by the time your crock pot reaches 160 (I've read that yeast dies at 140), but leaving at that temp for a few minutes will insure the yeast are dead.