Belgian IPA Recipe Critique

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

No_Nrg

Reaction score
I have the below idea for a Belgian IPA. I've never tried brewing this style before and wanted to run it by you guys before moving forward. I was a little unsure of the grain bill and whether the fruity hops would clash with the yeast character. This is from Brewers Friend recipe builder:

Brew Method: BIAB
Style Name: Specialty IPA: Belgian IPA
Boil Time: 60 min
Batch Size: 2.2 gallons (fermentor volume)
Boil Size: 3.2 gallons
Boil Gravity: 1.047
Efficiency: 65% (brew house)

STATS:
Original Gravity: 1.068
Final Gravity: 1.011
ABV (standard): 7.45%
IBU (tinseth): 74.16
SRM (morey): 7.66

FERMENTABLES:
90 oz - American - Pale 2-Row (90%)
10 oz - Belgian - Cara 20L (10%)

HOPS:
17 g - Simcoe, Type: Leaf/Whole, AA: 14, Use: Boil for 60 min, IBU: 67.98
19 g - Citra, Type: Leaf/Whole, AA: 13.9, Use: Aroma for 1 min, IBU: 3.25
19 g - Mosaic, Type: Leaf/Whole, AA: 12.5, Use: Aroma for 1 min, IBU: 2.93
19 g - Citra, Type: Leaf/Whole, AA: 13.9, Use: Dry Hop for 3 days
19 g - Mosaic, Type: Leaf/Whole, AA: 12.5, Use: Dry Hop for 3 days

MASH GUIDELINES:
1) Infusion, Temp: 156 F, Amount: 3.95 gal
2) Temperature, Temp: 150 F, Time: 60 min, Mash Temp

YEAST:
White Labs - Belgian Strong Ale Yeast WLP545
Fermentation Temp: 66 F

Thanks for the help.

To me, your recipe is more of an American IPA that happens to have a Belgian yeast. Aside from the yeast, everything about this is American IPA.