belgian golden strong ale

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

stickyfinger

Reaction score
Are any of you belgian golden strong ale devotees? Every time I make one, I realize how much I love this beer. I'd like to zero in on the best example of the style within reason. What are you using for water profiles, fermenation profiles, types of pils malt, hopping, etc.?

I'm kind of new to the style, but a recent trip to Belgium and drinking several have gotten me hooked. One I particularly want to try to brew is Unibroue's Don de Dieu. I think it is a tremendously well crafted beer with a yeast that perfectly compliments the malt profile. There are a couple of clone threads on this site.

edit: sorry, I think clone recipes for fin du monde are readily available. not so for ddd, but I did find one on brewtoad

there's not a lot in the malt or hops, so i'm curious how the yeast has been treated to best effect. maybe it is just an easier style to brew. i've rarely made a bad one. i'd like to play with the water chemistry more as well.

Ive actually not brewed one yet. I have done two tripels and one dubbel. Only one was all grain and it was a bit different, a tripel karmeliet clone in which I used the Chimay yeast (WLP500). I've made a saison with Safbrew Abbaye. So far, I'm pretty happy with the WLP500. The tripel karmeliet has a pilsener backbone but uses wheat, oats, and barley. I'm going to bottle that one. I think I'll take a stab at the Don de Dieu soon (maybe I'll look into harvesting the yeast from the bottles) and possibly keg it.