BeerSmith versus Brewer's Friend recipe discrepancy?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brewkinger

Testing... testing...is this frigger on?
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I have been brewing AG for a couple of years now with 2-3 extract batches prior to that.

I have used BS for the last couple of years and fine tuned it according to my processes and have learned to trust it (for the most part)

Earlier this year, I dove into the abyss that is "water chemistry" and used Brewers Friend on a couple of occasions to calculate water chemistry stuff.

(I have since switched to Brun Water for water profiling, but that is not pertinent here)

I have a friend coming up this weekend for LTHD on Saturday and gonna do a simple extract batch with some steeping grains to show him the ropes.

So I started out by building an extract recipe in BeerSmith... which made me notice some things that I had not before because I always use BS for all grain recipes.

In the design page, there is not an option for Extract w/ Steeping.

Recipe is:

7.4# Pilsen light LME

0.5# Carahell (12L)

0.5# CaraRed (23L)

1 oz Simcoe pellets 13.2%

0.25 oz each (0.5 total oz) of Amarillo 8.8% pellets and Centennial 10.7%

at 20min, 15min, 10min and 5 min

1 oz Amarillo leaf for 7 day dry hop

When I enter this into BS, it gives me an OG of 1.047

On a whim today, I entered the exact same recipe into Brewers Friend and got an expected OG of 1.056

Noticed that there is an option to enter an efficiency value (they recommend 25% to start) for the steeping grains.

So what gives here?

I realize that the sugar contribution is negligible and mostly for color and flavor in an extract batch but, does BS not calculate any additional sugar contributions from the steeping grains?