How do commercial breweries measure ABV

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bobtheUKbrewer2

Reaction score
I ask this because in a recent thread we established that refractometers can't be used once alcohol is present.

If they use hydrometers I do not understand how the "reading on day 2" can take account of less maltose plus some alcohol.

OG 1.045 FG 1.007 measured with a hydrometer, ABV ?

Answers from professional brewers particularly welcome!

I'm no expert on the matter but I know that breweries aren't using a hydrometer to get their abv. That's the homebrew way. The proper way involves lab testing from an in house lab or a contracted lab. I have no idea what the actual process is.

No brewery I ever worked for sent beer off to a lab to determine ABV (Bell's, Rogue, Breckenridge and a few others that no longer exist) except in cases where it was required from states that had ABV limits on beer. It was always calculated from gravity drop in fermentation.

No brewery I ever worked for sent beer off to a lab to determine ABV (Bell's, Rogue, Breckenridge and a few others that no longer exist) except in cases where it was required from states that had ABV limits on beer. It was always calculated from gravity drop in fermentation.

What do you do that allowed you to work for so many breweries, including Bell's and Rogue?