first time growing hops

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

GoneAway

Reaction score
Hi all, first time post, new to growing hops / brewing beer.

I recently purchased a pair of hops rhizomes: one golden hops, the other just says 'hops' and 'humulus lupus' (like I said, I'm brand new to this).

Anyways, a few weeks ago I planted each one at the base of a different pine tree (as I was told very firmly that the house could not be used...), where they get a fair amount of sun in the morning and a decent amount of partial sun in the afternoon/evening. I make sure they get watered at least 4 times a week I'm noticing some things that I'd like some feedback for.

The golden hops has been going nowhere fast, about half the leaves got partially shriveled, and there was no vertical growth whatsoever. The other hops was growing fairly well, but it didnt seem to want to grow up the tree, it kept growing out around the base of the tree.

So i've since moved both about 180° around their respective trees, and while they seem to be doing slightly better, the same problems are persisting. The golden hops seems to be remaining in the same state of limbo except for one tiny, promising shoot. The other hops has sped up growth, but no matter how much I try to get it to cling to the tree, it keeps abandoning it and grows sideways.

I'd appreciate any weigh-in on this, I just want to know if this is normal behavior, how I can deal with it, and how I can keep my hops healthy and flower-producing.

Thanks!!