My Keezer controller with switched and constant power

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

SpeedyR

Reaction score
I read thru a bunch of the threads on keezer controlers using the STC-1000 controller from amazon. Since I'm just getting into kegging my beers, this was the next logical step.

So I bought a 7.2 kenmore freezer from Kmart after scouring the local craigslists to no avail...

Then I read thru more of the forums to find what I wanted to do:

I wanted to have the cooling/switchable circuit as well as a constant on power outlet to power an old computer fan, as well as a green light to show when the unit was running (switched power was on). I didn't need the heating circuit as I'll build another one similar but on the heating side for a fermentation chamber.

So my needs were simple and after looking around the forums at some different options, here is what I ended up with:

STC-1000 controller from amazon (about $20)
Radio Shack 8"x6"x3" project box (part # 270-1809, $8)
Radio Shack green 120vac bulb (#272-0708, $3 for two)
9' tool replacement cord Home Depot (#342576 $13)
3/8" cable clamp (#839647 $2)
wire nuts
spare 14ga solid wire
two duplex outlets
dual cover for outlets (two outlets on one panel)

I followed all the usual directions (drill holes in the corners, used Dremel cut wheel to cut holes for two duplex outlets, STC-1000, green light and power cord). Here is where I ran into changes so thought I would post a little info on how I wired mine in case someone else is looking to do the same setup:

Main Power Cable from wall has three wires- white, black (power) and green (ground).

Black wire- split into three wires with wire nut- one to #1 on STC-1000, one to #7 on controller, and one to the gold screw on the continuous power outlet.