Small Frustrations...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ColbyJack

Reaction score
I have been brewing for a couple years, and BIAB for about 6 months (no sparge, full boil). Lately, I have been getting frustrated by mega trub. I am using voile curtains from walmart and lowes, and draping them in my keggle. Followed by a healthy squeeze with my colander into a bucket. I brew big IPAs, and have massive amounts of trub and break material in my keggle when I chill (immersion). I decided to make my batches bigger in an effort to leave more trub behind in my keggle, but the increased amount of grains is not helping the situation. My next idea is to rack to a large 6gal bucket with another filter of sorts, then dump that into my fermenter. Is using pellet hops the problem? I am ordering flower hops now for my next session.
Anyone else getting the same results?

Are you having problems with haze, flavor, or physical stability?

Everything should settle out fine in the fermentor given enough time (3-4 weeks).

yes Colby, I end up with about a gallon of trub in the bottom of my primary carboy. I don't really have a problem with it being there. I suppose you could let it settle for a while, few hours, then rack to another carboy and pitch your yeast.

Think I read somewhere that squeezing the bag opens the holes in the material a bit more letting out more trubby stuff, which sort of makes sense. I'm brewing tomorrow and am going to try filtering the squeezed wort before it hits the kettle. Will probably just line a strainer with my spare BIAB bag. I'm not fussed about mega-trub, just want to see if I do manage to reduce it a bit.

Stop squeezing.