Aging Belgian Dubbel in my basement

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pharaohpierre

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I brewed a Belgian Dubbel, however I tried it after fermentation and it tasted a bit thin. Either way I fermented for about 3 weeks and now I have kegged the beer. I want to condition the beer in the keg for about 2 or 3 months.
So I have two questions. The first is what temperature should I condition the beer. It is sitting in my basement which stay roughly 65F in the Summer. Also is 2 or 3 months a good enough time. This is my first Belgian that I brewed so I am still a novice, thanks in advance.

In my opinion aging beer makes it worse unless there's Brett, or it's otherwise in a barrel. Oxidation damages the flavors.

For more body you could add calcium chloride and/or maltodextrin.

I brewed a Belgian Dubbel, however I tried it after fermentation and it tasted a bit thin. Either way I fermented for about 3 weeks and now I have kegged the beer. I want to condition the beer in the keg for about 2 or 3 months.
So I have two questions. The first is what temperature should I condition the beer. It is sitting in my basement which stay roughly 65F in the Summer. Also is 2 or 3 months a good enough time. This is my first Belgian that I brewed so I am still a novice, thanks in advance.

Recipe?

In my opinion aging beer makes it worse unless there's Brett, or it's otherwise in a barrel. Oxidation damages the flavors.

For more body you could add calcium chloride and/or maltodextrin.