Advice needed for soda making w/ yeast

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

PistolaPete

Reaction score
I am new to soda making, but I've made quite a bit of beer. I would like to try making some soda using yeast for carbonation. From what I understand, when you make soda with yeast you let it ferment for maybe two days to create some carbonation and then bottle it and put the soda in the fridge so the colder temps make the yeast go dormant which stops fermentation. It seems like a lot of people use plastic bottles since they expand somewhat and you can let the pressure out if they feel like they are getting too hard and might explode. I am assuming once you put them in the fridge this is not an issue so much from that point on since the yeast go dormant. I have many glass bottles for beer making but I am hesitant about using them for bottling soda with the possibility of turning them into bottle bombs even after I store them in the fridge. Am I just being paranoid about using glass for bottling? What are most people on this forum using for bottling soda when they use yeast? If plastic bottles are preferred, do they keep good carbonation levels when stored for long periods of time in the fridge? Thanks in advance for any info given!

I have 2 cases of 1 liter PET bottles for sodas. Ferment for a coule of days and then chill, open over a sink or outside if i'm worried about pressure.