Final gravity problems.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

UoweMe

Reaction score
Ok. First off I am fairly new at brewing so the guys at the home brew store give me a lot of help with my grain mixing. When I talk to them about the type of beer I want to make they always ask me what I would like the final gravity to be. I like around 6-7 % most of the time.
My problem is, after brewing the beer and finishing fermentation my beers usually end up being around 4%? With 12 pounds I grain in a five gallon batch this blows my mind. Any suggestions on where I may be loosing my sugars, or maybe iota even a problem with the yeasts. I am doing all grain FYI.

I think you are confusing some terms here. Your final gravity is just how much sugar is left after the brew. You could have the same FG but have drastically different ABV depending on how much sugar there was to start.

What is your last recipe and measured original gravity?

The ABV of a beer is a relationship of the starting and final gravity of a beer.

In other words how much sugar was available at the beginning before pithing yeast and then how much sugar the yeast consumed and converted to alcohol-also know as attenuation of the yeast.

Some yeast will attenuate better than others and it is dependent upon the strain of yeast and the ferment able sugar of the wort.

Just because you use 12 lbs of grain doesn't mean you will have a high or low ABV beer as here are many factors involved in the production of the alcohol.

You can have a starting gravity beer of 1.060 that actually finishes with less alcohol than a 1.040 beer depending in how it attenuated.

You also want to read the gravity scale on your hydrometer and not the % scale.