Help with first IPA Recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

brnooewb

Reaction score
Hello all. I'm pretty new here but I've been lurking for quite some time. I have a while 8 brews under my belt and 2 of those are BIAB all grain.
I just planted some hops this year.
Centennial
Columbus
Cascade
And MTV hood.
I'm wanting to make a House Hop IPA basically just using the hop varieties I'm growing. Is like something with a decently high ABV and a nice but not overly bitterness.
I attached a photo of the recipe.
This is my first attempt building a IPA

image-2265317681.jpg

so if I'm totally missing something please let me know.
Thanks!

Looks pretty good to me. I'd be concerned about the 1.019 FG personally, that is way too high for me, lots of residual sweetness there. Depends on your tastes, I prefer 1.010-1.012 IPAs, I wouldn't go over 1.016.

Generally looks good, especially since you are only 8 batches in.

at mid 1070's you are starting to get into IIPA territory, which means more IBUs and more hops than in your current recipe.

I would either back down the OG to mid 1060's or up the hops and IBUs.

What is your mash temp? A FG of 1019 seems way high for that bill, especially considering 5% corn sugar.

I'd move the 20 min to 15. Either way if you increase hops or decrease gravity I would also add a flame out addition or hopstand. I would also dry hop with no less than 2 ounces, 3-4 would be better.

^^ I agree about bumping up the late hops. Personally I would double everything from 10 minutes on in, and include an ounce of each at flameout.