4 year old ingredients... What went bad?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pastarojna

Reaction score
Hello,
I am new to the beer brewing, well did do one of the Amazon kits once.

Anyhow, my father in law is big on brewing , and 4 years sago he sent me one of his recopies and ingredients to brew.
Its been laying around for 4 years in closed box and finally now i'm thinking about brewing it finally.
I was wondering if anyone can tell me what from all the ingredients went bad and need to be replaced?
Please see photos attached.

Thank you :)
Happy Brewing!!!!

Attachments

• IMG_20200429_103234.jpg
    IMG_20200429_103234.jpg
    220.1 KB · Views: 30
  • IMG_20200429_103230.jpg
    IMG_20200429_103230.jpg
    239.6 KB · Views: 32
  • IMG_20200429_103217.jpg
    IMG_20200429_103217.jpg
    160.2 KB · Views: 31
  • IMG_20200429_103221.jpg
    IMG_20200429_103221.jpg
    149.6 KB · Views: 32
  • IMG_20200429_103225.jpg
    IMG_20200429_103225.jpg
    221.2 KB · Views: 32
  • IMG_20200429_103228.jpg
    IMG_20200429_103228.jpg
    196 KB · Views: 29
Last edited:
hops look like crap, crush looks like crap...the finnings will probably be ok though....lol, sorry to sound negative....

Welcome!.

edit: at any rate, i'd brew it myself....

4 years is some time on ingredients...

Definitely ditch the hops. The should be green and smell fresh. Those look brown, and I bet smell like funk/cheese. Buy new on these.

The grains may be ok, if the were stored properly, and oxygen exposure was kept to a minimum. At that rate, to replace that grain bill would be like $8-10.

The yeast may or may not be ok. I would just buy new, and not risk it. A new sachet of Fermentis S05 is like $5. A fresh liquid packet is like $7.

4 years is some time on ingredients...