2 Beers/1 Freezer - Temp controller?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NHAFER

Reaction score
Hello!

I'm fairly new to the brewing scene, and am hoping to start brewing two types of beers in the same chest freezer I just purchased. I'm hoping that I can setup a dual temp controller, with a fermpad/thermowell on one carboy, to brew a lager and an ale at the same time. I've seen a few people explain that they've done it, but nobody has written exactly how. I have a 8 cu. ft chest freezer, and am wondering what temp control to purchase. It's already cold out here in San Francisco....so I'm more worried about keeping the temp up on the higher temp fermenting beer.

HELP!

You don't need to do this. How often are you going to need this capability? You've got plenty to learn as a noob without fretting over details like this. I think you'll be happier turning that into a kegerator.

I appreciate your honesty. :) It's just hard getting a consistent temp that works in San Francisco.....especially when my house is freezing 95% of the time. I think the freezer will help with the consistency....as well has having the ferm wrap. The lack of space in our apartment forces me to ferment in a storage closet downstairs....which gets mighty cold as well. I'm struggling more to get to Ale temps. Lagering is easy for me. :)

NHAFER said:
I appreciate your honesty. :) It's just hard getting a consistent temp that works in San Francisco.....especially when my house is freezing 95% of the time. I think the freezer will help with the consistency....as well has having the ferm wrap. The lack of space in our apartment forces me to ferment in a storage closet downstairs....which gets mighty cold as well. I'm struggling more to get to Ale temps. Lagering is easy for me. :)