1st batch, strong alcohol taste

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jdrbucks

Reaction score
I have been making homebrew beer for about three years and decided to make my first batch of homemade wine. Found a recipe online for a 5 gallon blueberry batch that seemed pretty simple. Followed the recipe as it said and I have a pretty bad taste. I gave it one month primary fermenter, one month secondary fermenter. It has been about three months since I bottled it and I decided to try it today. Taste like straight rubbing alcohol or something similar. Kind of like the ethanol taste from the unfinished batch of moonshine. Any suggestions or pointers would be welcome. It was my first time so I'm sure I screwed something up. I did however forget to take hydrometer reading before fermenting. Did take one towards the end and it measured at .940. The recipe I followed called for 15 pounds of blueberries and 10 pounds of sugar. I did add approximately 5 pounds of sugar throughout fermenting because I read somewhere that would prevent it from being too dry of a wine. Just trying to figure out if there's anyway to save the 5 gallons of already bottled wine.

Your extra 5 lbs of sugar fermented, and boosted the abv.

Let it age, taste it again in a year, who knows?

I don't think most bone dry fruit wines taste very good. I'd consider sweeting it up a little. Not like a dessert wine, but just enough to get it off of being so dry. If that works then you could either use a nonfermentable sugar, or stabilize and add sugar/honey/whatever.

Your final gravity reading of .940? Do you actually mean 0.994, which is more realistic?