1-Wire Fermentation Control System

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tharding

Reaction score
FermentationControllerOverview.jpg
Over the past couple of years I have put together a fermentation control system that allows me to control the temperature of my fermenting wort.
The system allows me to monitor and control the temperature to 1/10 of a degree of the target temperature using a 1-wire control system.

When I started brewing a few years ago I quickly learned that if you wanted to make great beer you needed to control the temperature of the fermenting wort to get the best qualities of the yeast and to help eliminate the production of off flavors. I am still working towards making great beer, but at least the fermentation process is now automated.

I will go over all the components of the system over the next few weeks, so others can utilize what I have developed.

Homebrewing is about giving back to the community.

Have a great day and I will post again soon.

Can't wait to see more of this!
From your diagram, I currently don't see anyway to heat your wort, is that correct? I see you have a cooling system going, but can you warm it up?
I'd love to see specifics on the remote monitoring.

You are correct there is no way to warm up the wort.. I can ramp up the temperature of the wort simple by setting a higher target temperature.. The temperature of the wort will ramp up at a very slow rate due to thermal loss of the cooler, approx. 1 degree or so every hour. I only ramp up the temperature of the wort at or near the end of the fermentation cycle to squeeze some more life out of the yeast.