1-wire device to control a fan??

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Homercidal

Licensed Sensual Massage Therapist.
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
How would someone go about using a 1-wire adapter to control a fan? I think the device should be able to trigger an event in some way, which could be used by a simple circuit to fire a relay. I'm not good at filling in the blanks...

I have a 1-wire network set up, and I thought it would be handy to turn on a heater, or a computer fan to draw cold air in, if I could tap into the temp sensor system.

I'm thinking it should be much easier to to this than to buy another temp controller.

EDIT: Actually, I meant it should be "cheaper" than buying another temp controller...

not sure if this is what you are looking for, but a PWM controller for fan speed uses one additional wire to the red and black power/ground.

What are you running the 1-wire network on? Arduino, Brewtroller, or other?

I doubt that you could directly power a fan or a relay from the 1-wire circuit alone. I believe you would need to utilize a separate pin to control a relay.

You need to provide more information.

A switch can be set up as a 1 wire device. As that, any switch (a thermoswitch, a pressure switch, etc) can be a 1 or 2 wire device, depending on its construction. Thermoswitches are usually 1 wire devices, because the body of the switch itself acts as the second wire, so, if you screw it up to, let's say, a tank, and you wire one of the poles that feed the fan to that tank, and the other pole directly to the fan, all you need is to wire the switch's free wire directly to the fan's second pole, and you're done.

I'll tell you what I got:

1-wire temp sensor = DS18S20
A USB adapter to read the network =
ds9490r-a.jpg