"Two Piece" Airlock?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ddeluca

Reaction score
Newbie here... Day after brewing my second (1 gallon) batch I came home to find my 3-piece air lock clogged and spilling all over my 2 gallon fermenter. I'm using a 2 gallon pail, and the pressure also forced it open a bit on the side, allowing a bit of brew/krauzen to leak onto the side of the bucket.

Cleaned and sealed everything up again. Now a few questions or comments...

Even though the lid wasn't wide open, I know there was potential exposure for bacteria (if goo can get out, then little critters can get in). I'd like to wait this out, and try my luck. Question - worth the wait, or don't risk drinking an effected batch?

Everything's bubbling pretty rigorously, so I'm thinking maybe I should keep the top of my three piece off, and give all the bubbles all the room they need to escape. Foolish? Not really achieving anything? Good idea? I've got cleaned sanitized liquid in there, and I'm oping it's going to act more like a blow-off tube, given the freedom for the gas to escape (I unfortunately can't fit a proper tube in the grommet / hole)

I'm brewing a extract base + grain stout (recipe kit). 1 gallon OG 1.085. > teaspoon of Safale 04 (instruction called for 1 teaspoon, but I admittedly got over zealous with my interpretation of a teaspoon - I'm guessing that attributed to the activity)

Attachments

• IMG_1599.JPG
    IMG_1599.JPG
    33.3 KB · Views: 33
Last edited:
Welcome to the forum!

No biggie if the airlock top popped off. There's still the little bulb thingy on the airlock stem. I doubt anything major found its way in and I wouldn't worry about it.