Too many esters

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bkboiler

Reaction score
So I have a fairly new brew rig that I made and I'm still learning my way around.

--A couple weeks ago I did a double brew day:a pale ale and a porter.

Long story short, I should have taken a better temp measurement, I trusted the BK thermometer after chilling and then oxygenated and pitched yeast into a wort that was much warm...

Both beers are very estery and taste somewhat sour or twangy. I definitely taste diacetyl in the pale, it's already kegged, so I'm bringing it up to temp to hopefully rouse the yeast to clean up a bit.

Im gonna probably do the same for the porter...

In a week, if it still tastes horrible, I'm contemplating putting some medium toast oak in both kegs and also some vanilla extract in the porter.
I've oaked IPAs before and liked it (but those were good beers before the oak).

Other ideas?

Maybe boil a small amount of water with cocoa powder and add that to the porter? Bourbon?

At this point I'm willing to try anything as I've made this mistake far more times in the past than I care to admit and it resulted in dumping the batch most of the time.

Thanks in advance for any suggestions offered!

Both beers are very estery and taste somewhat sour or twangy. I definitely taste diacetyl in the pale, it's already kegged, so I'm bringing it up to temp to hopefully rouse the yeast to clean up a bit.

You should be able to clean up diacetyl (which I would not really expect in a beer fermented too warm) but esters from fermentation are probably to stay. I am not sure about "sour or twangy" as that points more toward infection/wild yeast to me. What yeast are you using?