Stuck Fermentation

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

morlando27

Reaction score
I started brewing a Mangrove Jack's pear cider kit January 7th. The initial SG reading was 1.051. One week later, it was 1.025, where it has been stuck ever since. I have tried raising the temperature using a heating mat, adding yeast energizer, and pitching a new packet of rehydrated yeast but nothing has made a difference in the SG readings. Is there anything else I can do?

Welcome.

1678071133746.png

;):D

A hydrometer would be better, however if you don't have one, taste will give you a good idea. SG of 1.025 (in fact anything over 1.015) will taste quite sweet, whereas fully fermented there should be little or no sweetness. As a guide, SG 1.020 is about 40 grams of sugar per litre which is similar to 2 teaspoons of sugar in half a pint (8 oz glass) of cider or cup of coffee.

Last edited:
Use both ;)
I've just put those figures in a handy little app called brewking (you can use brewers friend, brew father etc) and actual FG is around 1.010 with an apparent attenuation of 81% which sounds pretty much on target for a cider kit

It tastes quite sweet to me BUT the directions have you add an artificial sweetener at the same time as pitching the yeast so I think a lot of the sweetness can be attributed to that.

I don't know what effect the sweetener will have on the density or if you need a correction factor (to adjust the SG or Brix if the hydrometer floats differently or light refracts differently) so probably this time around if it tastes good and hasn't been bubbling for a while you can probably assume that it is done. By any chance did you get a refractometer reading of the juice and the juice plus sweetener? Was there a difference?