Rum Barrel Samoa Porter-Help needed

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KyleWolf

Reaction score
Hi Everyone.

Looking to make a samoa imperial porter that I am going to age in my rum barrel. I have never used coconut in a beer before though I have had a few good coconut homebrews. I wanted to get some thoughts on this recipe and any ideas of how to get additional caramel flavors. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

12lb 00oz 2row
01lb 00oz Flaked Oats
01lb 00oz Biscuit Malt
00lb 12oz Crisp Brown Malt
00lb 12oz Caramel 80
00lb 08oz Chocolate Malt
00lb 08oz Crystal 120
00lb 08oz Lactose

0.5oz Columbus 60min
Another hop addition at ~15min, just to bring the IBUs up to ~35.

Probably ferment with an English Ale year or maybe Denny's Favorite 50.

OG:1.085
FG: 1.020
ABV: 9%
SRM-28
IBU-35

For the coconut, I was thinking of using maybe 1.5lb of shaved coconut toasted in the oven and added into secondary.
Throw in some cocoa nibs and a vanilla bean into some vodka during fermentation and add into secondary.
I am still a little stumped on how to get that real "caramel" taste into the beer. There have been some suggestions of adding molasses after killing the fermentation with potassium metabisulfite, but I am not sure if that will give the desired effect.

Is the biscuit AND flaked oats too much? If so, I would probably keep the flaked oats for the silky body. Lactose is there for a similar reason, to smooth out the body and also to enhance the cocoa.

So, with that, I would love to hear some thoughts and suggestions. Thanks a bunch!

*Disclaimer, I have read a number of the previous posts on girl scout cookie beers.