Recirculating during Conical Dry Hop - am I nuts?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

goodolarchie

Reaction score
I'm new to conicals, but finally got myself a Chronical BME, and excited to have so much more control over the fermentation and exposure to oxygen. I'm thinking ahead to equipment and hop schedules, particularly for very juicy IPA dry hop additions sensitive to oxidation.

How does this program sound for aiming at a ~2 week turnaround?

(After Brew Day) - transfer Wort to Fermenter, reach 65ºF, pitch ale yeast.
Day 2 - free rise to target temp.
Day 3 - Sample indicates last ~10% of attenuation, time for small first hop addition. No need to purge CO2 with little headspace and fermentation active, but it wouldn't hurt...
Day 7 - Fermentation is complete, beer is at its diacetyl rest temperature (let's say Imperial Juice at 73ºF). Force tested for acetolactate/diacetyl. Cold Crash with ice bath circulation overnight.
Day 8 - Yeast and first dry hop has dropped out, dump using sight glass from the dump port until it clears up. Second dry hop addition, purge with CO2 and PRV. Beer rises back to ~63ºF in roughly 24 hours. The cooler temperature is to prevent a re-fermentation.
Day 9 - Hops are settling, need to circulate. Connect sanitized line from dump port, to sanitized pump, up sample port, which creates a bit of a whirlpool or tank circulation. This can be run periodically, perhaps every morning and night.
Day 10-12 - same recirculation schedule.
Day 13 - fining if applicable, final cold crash
Day 14 - removal of hop matter and anything remaining that can drop out. Purge, closed pressure keg transfer, carb
Day 15+ - enjoy!