Questions about legality of homebrewing in an apartment

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dehitay

Reaction score
I've been brewing apple wine in my apartment for a few months now. But I've started enough gallon jugs up that my apartment complex noticed it when they were changing the air filters. Then they informed me that they weren't going to allow me to continue brewing.

Now I live in Texas and my brewing is in compliance with Texas law. I don't produce more than 200 gallons and I don't sell anything that I brew. So there's nothing illegal about what I'm doing.

So my question is: Does an apartment complex have the right to stop you from homebrewing if you're not breaking any laws? For me, this seems as ridiculous as saying that I'm not allowed to bake pizza in my own home. It seems illegal to restrict me from making my own food and drink, but I'm not sure where to search for legality so I haven't debated it with the complex yet. Does anybody know if it's legal or whether I can find out if it's legal to restrict me?

I'm no lawyer and I'm not familiar with the law but I know a lot of people that brew in apartments. As long as you aren't using propane inside or something crazy, which it sounds like you aren't, then I think your fine.

Unless there's something in your lease starting otherwise, I believe they may have assumed like a lot of people do that making any alcohol is illegal. Distilling hard liquor is illegal but from the outside looking in, some people don't know the difference. To correct the misunderstanding I recommend speaking with the leasing office with a reference to whatever law states home brewing in small quantities is legal.