My First Wild Yeast Cider- Need opinions..

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DirtyHands

Reaction score
My First post, been reading various posts from the site for information and advice. But at the stage where i think i need to post to get some feedback on next steps.

I'm a very amateur Brewer.

I live in a great apple region with a cheap supply of apples and juice on hand so wanted to make a cider (my favorite drink is magners) so was looking to get a brew going intime for xmas.

2 years ago i made a batch using champagne yeast which came out ok, good clarity nice fizz but was too dry and winey in flavour. Not the Cider flavour i'm used to.

This year I am trying a wild yeast batch to get a more natural flavour profile.

I collected a quantity of windfall apples and made three different starter cultures. I was actually surprised at the difference in odour from the three.

I froze the apple juice to make the yeast present dormant, then quickly warmed it and added the active starter that i thought had the best profile.

Inital SG was 1.046 and its been fermenting nicely for 2 weeks at a steady slow rate. Ambient Temp around 17c

I racked from the initial bucket to a carboy, mainly to reduce the headspace and remove the yeast sediment. Sg was 1.016 and had a great flavour and sweetness, retaining a lot of the apple flavour that was missing from my previous attempt.

Its currently fermenting consistently at about 1 bubble per 9 minutes, i'm not expecting a rapid ferment because of the lower temp but also the nature of the wild yeast compared to commercial.

So thats where i am at, things seem to be going well.