How to handle infection???

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cimirie

Reaction score
So, while I was doing sour fruit ale, I went from primary to secondary where I placed the peaches. After a month, I transferred from secondary to tertiary to clear it. While in tertiary, a thin white-ish pellicle formed. I assumed infection, and after some mixed feedback here, that's what I believed it to be. But, I used a sanitized "skimmer," got rid of the pellicle and it never came back.

Flash forward to two weeks later, I bottled it.

Now, one week after bottling, the same pellicle has appeared in each and every bottle.

OK, so this has got to be an infection - duh. But the mantra I've heard since I started brewing is that "time heals all wounds." I don't mind if it's sour. But what I do mind is when bottles start exploding. So, the two philosophies seem to be at odds with each other: let it sit in the bottles and get better with time - unless of course they explode OR dump it it's ruined.

I spent months planning this beer, months more making it and I'll be damned if I want to kill it. But I'm also not a fan of shrapnel all over my closet.

Help!!!

FWIW, I bottled this 6 gallon batch with roughly 3 pounds of lactose. Would that play a part in this?

If you can keep it all cold - you shouldn't get explosions. So long as the pellicle looks the same all over it will probably be safe. If you have spots, especially different colored ones or some fuzz like mold - probably dump.

-OCD

UPDATE:

So, I put two bottles in the fridge (to cool for a "taste test") and the weirdest thing happened... The pellicle disappeared. Don't know what that means, but I thought I'd share.