First time kettle sour advice

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rotorheadmedic

Reaction score
So I have been brewing since 2003. WHen I started out I was a strict German Purity Laws kind of guy. water, hops, and barley. Thats it. My friends were putting apricots, raisins, chocolate and all manner of evil into their beer and it was WEIRD. Tasted awful and often was infected. I (knock on wood) have had ZERO infections and have won a few competitions sticking to basics. I love a good IPA and brew them alot. As all of us poor saps who get the bug to brew good beer do, I have invested way to much money into this. I now have come from 5gal pony keg direct fired gravity fed kegs sitting on a brew sculpture that could at the same time catch fire or fall over spilling boiling fluids on me to a 15 gal full electric RIMS system with dual pumps, and Spike CF10 conical fermenter with heater and glycol chiller. In light of all this and having developed a taste for sours I now want to try my hand at the "kettle sour" My plan is as follows.

5 gal test batch base beer consists of:
5lb 2 row malt
5lb dark wheat
2lb Honey malt
2lb crystal 60l

Mash as normal 152deg for 60 min then transfer to BK. Boil for 10min to sterilize then cool to 100deg and pitch 1 carton Goodbelly Mango drink, seal kettle and let sit for 18-36 hrs target ph of 3.3. Then boil for 60min adding 2 oz Amarillo hops at 30min. Irish moss at 15min. Cool and transfer to fermenter. Long winded but here are the questions.
1. Should I use a Heff yeast or something cleaner like White labs California ale? I plan on adding 49oz Vinters harvest Rasberry puree at end of fermentation and let age for approx 2-3 weeks

2. For those that kettle sour does this sound like a solid plan. Any thoughts/advice?