Building an all electric system in Beijing

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TinTurtle

Reaction score
So I have been dragging pieces over to China for about 2 years and I am in the final stages of getting my 29 gallon system up and running. The control circuit is really giving me a hard time. I thought I had it all figured out, but after looking at some diagrams over on the Electric Brewing forum I am wondering if I missed something.

Our electric is 210v on a single leg. GFCI is non-existent here, so I am going to have to integrate all of the safety into the panel somehow. For now here is just a basic diagram showing how I intended to use the BCS controller and a 40 am relay to control the element. I noticed that the Electric Brewers circuit uses a door bell relay and I am not certain why this is included.

Once I know for sure this basic design is correct I can order up my switches, plugs, box etc and start cutting holes.

image.axd

You could use the Home Depot spa panel GFCI.

Also, 4500w / 210v = 21.43 amps. You will be exceeding the capacity of your power feed and 20a switch. It might work, or it might trip the circuit breaker. More importantly, what gauge and type of wire is running from your breaker panel on this circuit? Worse than a nuisance breaker trip would be an electrical fire. If the wire is not adequately sized for a 4500w element, you should either step down to a lower wattage element or rewire the circuit with higher amperage wire.

I am running 10/3 outdoor cable to the elements. Crap, you would think I could figure amperage. I will have to bump that switch up, but more critical is the breaker in my apartment box.

The thing is, unless it's SPECIFICALLY designed for 210v, a 4500w 240v element won't run 4500w on 210v.