Another Lager Help Request

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gometz

Reaction score
Hello everyone, I have been lurking on this forum for a while, it always pops up as one of the first source of answers when I google questions. I have been brewing on and off for about 8 years (including a 3 years break where I was moving a lot). Since my hiatus I made 1 lager which came out terribly (I think my plastic fermenters may have gotten old and the water where I was living was very hard).

So this year I plan on getting serious about brewing. I have a black imperial IPA (wasn't supposed to be black, accidentally got chocolate wheat) and regular IPA going, just in the last month. So to slow myself down I plan on starting a lager this weekend.

TL:DR; making a lager next and have some questions (Munich Helles to be exact).

I may be being a bit overzealous, but I will also be making this my first all-grain. Planning on just an infusion mash, not sure if I am ready for decoction.

My questions are thus:
1. If I buy a vial of White Labs WLP830 Thursday night and begin a starter then in a 2L flask with Wyeast yeast fuel, will I have a good amount of yeast by Saturday morning?
2. Is it a crazy idea to buy two vials of different yeasts and combine them? IE WLP830 and WLP800?

Thank you in advance, I am sorry for being such a novice.

I've been brewing AG for 3 or 4 years, and I do a few lagers each year, so I'm no expert, but I can give you some advice.

1: a 2 L starter is probably a little small for a lager, but you can double check mrmalty.com's yeast calculator to be sure. I'm guessing doing 2 L, cold crashing and decanting, than adding another 2 L to the yeast will get you much closer to the ballpark. But again, check mrmalty.com to be sure. :)