Critique my house IPA recipe please!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gaylord

Reaction score
Good evening all!

I've been brewing for about 18 months now, and have mostly copied recipes off this site, Haus Pale Ale, etc. I have Beersmith and LOVE IPA's and am trying to design my own house IPA.

I'm looking for something...well delicious! I love pretty much all IPA's so I don't have any preferences. I do have a pound of Amarillo though so I'd like to include that in the recipe.

Any and all critique would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

OG: 1.066
IBU: 76
Color: 8.8
ABV: 6.5%

11 lbs 2 row
12 oz Crystal 40
1 lb Carapils
1 lb Munich
4 oz Honey Malt

.75 oz Magnum @ 60 min
1 oz Amarillo @ 15 min
1 oz Centennial @ 15 min
1 oz Amarillo @ 5 min
1 oz Centennial @ 5 min

Yeast: Wyeast 1056 1L starter.

Would this IPA be too sweet, have I balanced it correctly, and will the hops mesh well together?

Thank you!

Looks pretty tasty to me!
One of my IPA's has a similar hop schedule, but I use citra instead of centennial.
My grain bill is a little more simple.
With 2 row, c60 and a touch of honey malt.
Brew it up and see what ya think!
I personally would drop the carapils.

Looks good to me, I love warrior as a bittering hop though. You should consider a 90 minute boil, to drive off any dms in a lighter color beer like this. I would move the 5 minute additions to flame out, and consider doing a dry hop addition, you could stick with the same hops, or do cascade or citra