Head retention and all grain brewing

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

chungking

Reaction score
So I have been brewing for almost two years, mostly extract, and I just started doing some all grain kits. I've been noticing that my all grain beers have little to no head. And they have also been taking longer to carb. My extract kits all had good head and carbed fast. I'm thinking I am doing something wrong during the brewing. I brewed a coffee stout and a Indian brown ale, both have terrible head retention. Both are taking their sweet time to carb. I did a partial mash pale ale using the same equipment and no problems with head, but it had some LME in it...

There are several issues you could have had. What was your mash temp? Did you do any protein rests? Any chance your equipment, bottles or glasses had soap residue? There is a wealth of info here and other places. I usually add some Carapils to help with head retention, but I only had to do that with AE. My AGs have all had good head retention. Check this page out: http://beersmith.com/blog/2008/06/25/enhancing-beer-head-retention-for-home-brewers/

Mash temps were 152 for Indian brown ale, 156-158 for stout. No protein rests, single infusion style mash for 1 hr. no soap used on equipment. I use the sanitize cycle on dishwasher for bottles, no detergents. So maybe some soap there, but I do the same for my extract brews, and no problems. The kits came with certain amounts of carapils, unless they screwed up the kits...

Do you have rinse aid in your dish washer that automatically dispenses during rinse cycle? I hear this could effect head retention.

seigex said:
Do you have rinse aid in your dish washer that automatically dispenses during rinse cycle? I hear this could effect head retention.