Not your normal BIAB control box

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bonsai4tim

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I've been using a PID controlled boil kettle for BIAB brewing for a couple of years now, wanted to upgrade my control box. The Keggle is the same one I've been using for about 2 years now. The control box was previously a single PID in a huge Cutler Hammer electrical box, and looked odd to say the least.

So I built this in December, have used it 8-10 times since then.

BrewRig1_zps8d891255.jpg

brewrig5_zps6318b84c.jpg

its red oak chest with simple mitered corners, with glue blocks for re-enforcement. Top panel is corian from an old counter top, the brass banding I cut from a piece of scrap sheet brass from the local metal recycle business (they sell all kinds of interesting stuff)

2 PID, 2 40 amp SSR inside. One to control the RIMS tube, and one to control the boil kettle.

The copper tube on top is the rims tube. Its a 1 1/2 inch copper pipe. The "posts" holding up the RIMS tube are the inlet and outlet. Wires to element are on the left, RTD sensor on the right. I don't really need the RIMS tube for brewing, but will need it for controlled temp water bath for chocolate making, so it will get used.

The pump is built into the box.

This shows the electrical hook up:

brewrig4_zps072a34c4.jpg

It can run (RIMS only) on 110v, or change the selector for 240v for both RIMS and the boil pot.

This is the backside:
Labelsoncontrolbox_zps130c211a.jpg

The pump intake is the hose connection with no label in the middle. You can see the plate heat exchanger on the far side.