Does higher mash temp create darker color beer?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Facinerous

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
First off let me just say that I am still new to the home brewing craft, have a whole bunch of new equipment, and am still learning how to work with this equipment.

That said I want to pose a short question and follow up with the specifics.

The literal question is; Does a higher mash temperature create a darker color beer?

EG: if you mash at 145 you would get one color, but at 155 you get a darker color from the crystal malts and other such things.

The reason I'm asking (involving a short story, and you can skip this part if you just have an answer) is. I have officially done two all grain brews. One of which is a Cirtra IPA with complete and devistating success (delicious), and the other a quasi Irish red ale which is the first brew I have done where I devised the entire recipe on my own accord.

The recipe is as follows: hopefully the calcs make sense

Target vol: 5 gal
Boil: 6 gal
OG: 1.070 or there abouts
FG: 1.016 or there abouts
SRM: 15
IBU: 39 (Which is a bit high for a red ale, this I know)

Maris Otter - 9 lb
Vienna Malt - 3 lb
Roasted Barley - 5 oz
Crystal 60 - 4 oz

Centennial(USA) - 1 oz @ 40 min
East Kent Goldings(UK) - .5 oz @ 20 min
Irish Moss - 1 tsp @ 15 min

Irish Ale WLP004 - Two vials with no starter (Warmed to 70f for about 3 hrs before pitching)

So as the story goes I am using new equipment for this brew, and I brought my strike temp up to high. I bought a Bayou 10 gal pot, which comes with a corrugated false bottom so I used the pot as my mash tun.