Fermentation Issues

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jrhelie

Reaction score
Im new to home brewing. I did a batch of Caribou Slobber from Northern Brewer and it fermented really fast because I had it in a room that was way too warm. I started a batch of Russian Imperial Stout from Brewers Best on Sunday. Followed all the instructions exactly. The OG was exactly were it needed to be, between 1.077-1.080. The yeast was pitched at the correct temp, and its being stored in a room that doesnt get warmer than 66-68 F. I was getting no real activity in the airlock within the first 36 hours. I opened up the fermenter to just peek at where it was at and it looked like it foamed way up yesterday afternoon or last night and now has resided way down. Im not sure if Im doing something wrong or if this is normal? Im worried it fermented too quickly and that Ill get off flavors in this.

Im using a Northern Brewer fermentation bucket for a primary and a 6 gallon glass carboy for a secondary. Also the fermometer says its at 68 F. The yeast packet said optimum temp range was 64-75 F. Any help would be amazing thanks!

A couple of thoughts. No airlock activity for 36 hours is troubling—but perhaps it escaped your notice? The brewing literature out there does say there's a direct correlation between a long "lag" phase and off flavors, but you won't know until you taste the finished product.