New to brewing with some questions

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jdcsail

Reaction score
Hello All,

I'm brand new to brewing and just made my first batch last week using the northern brewer one gallon small batch starter kit... I was wondering if anyone else has experience with this kit? I followed the directions to a tee doing exactly what they said... The brew day went pretty smooth until it was time to transfer to the fermenter using the auto siphon... No matter what I did I could not get the siphon to work!!! They sent me a new one and even that one doesn't work for me, is it something I'm doing wrong? Also when I finally got everything into the fermentor I was no where near one gallon of wort. Needless to say I'm very disappointed thus far. Any advice would be really appreciated! appreciated!

Don't get down. I'm know nothing about that kit but here are some things to consider, regarding losses. 1. Evaporation rate-no one can predict yours, you could have drier air, a stronger boil, more of a draft, etc. 2. Transfer. You will always have losses in transfer. More equip, more losses. 3. Boil over.

I would measure gravity, compare with target. Add water if high to get correct gravity. If gravity is correct already, your losses were in transfer/spillage. This is assuming your volumes were correct to start. I'm guessing it's an extract kit so gravity wouldn't be low.

You will still make drinkable beer. Keep at it.