Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

TheWulf

Reaction score
Looking for some feedback on the grain bill and hop additions for this little experiment. I'm quite new to brewing and this is one of the first real recipes I've put together, so any feedback is appreciated.

The goal here is to make a flavourful Wheat IPA with a hint of ghost pepper (nicknamed Casper, for what is hopefully an obvious reason!). I'm not trying to make a spice-bomb, I just want some smoky flavour from the ghost peppers.

Inspiration is mostly from eating a bag of ghost pepper chips while drinking an IPA. Went really well together. I'm thinking the wheat addition will add a bit more mouth-feel and keep it a bit smoother so that the ghost pepper smokiness stands out more than the bitterness.

Anyways, I am trying to balance out the hop additions to find a nice medium that will give a solid hop profile while not overpowering the pepper. Advice on this and the grain bill is appreciated.

Hops chosen: Columbus / Amarillo. Mostly because I have 4oz of each that I can use right now, and that's about it, except 1oz of Citra. Any suggestions with common hops could be considered, but my LHBS doesn't stock a lot of variety and aren't cheap, and I'd like to try this over the weekend.

Grains: General approximation based on several wheat ipa recipe's I've seen posted. I'm considering upping the amount of wheat vs 2-row. Any comments welcome here too.

Code:
Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Boil Size: 7.89 gal
Post Boil Volume: 6.76 gal
Batch Size (fermenter): 5.50 gal   
Bottling Volume: 4.75 gal
Estimated OG: 1.070 SG
Estimated Color: 4.0 SRM
Estimated IBU: 60.3 IBUs
Brewhouse Efficiency: 80.00 %
Est Mash Efficiency: 94.5 %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Ingredients:
------------