Hop Help

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

traviswalken

Reaction score
I am fairly new to brewing and trying to put together an IPA recipe. I bought a bunch of hops a few months ago. As I've brewed more batches, I have found that I really love American ales (Pale, brown, IPA) and am not too crazy about English anymore. I would like to use up some of my English hops, but don't want to use them in an American IPA if will throw off the whole batch.

Here are my hops on hand:

Neutral Bittering:
Horizon
Magnum

American:
Simcoe
Citra
Cascade

English:
Willamette
Golding
Fuggles

What would you do? I don't need an exact recipe, just a nudge in the right direction.

Willamette is a nice complimentary hop for other varieties. Doesn't matter whether it is an American style or not. You can layer in English varieties into American styles very easily as they tend to be more subtle flavors and give beers a nice base hoppiness. Try mixing in like .5 oz for a 5 gallon batch into your American style finishing hops. You can always use them for bittering too.

I am thinking about the following hop schedule:

1 oz Horizon at 60 min (44 IBU)

1 oz Cascade at 10 min (8 IBU)
.5 oz Simcoe at 10 min (8 IBU)

1 oz Cascade at FO
.5 oz Willamette at FO
.5 oz Simcoe at FO

1 oz Willamette DH

Please let me know if you think I am out to lunch. Thanks!

I am thinking about the following hop schedule:

1 oz Horizon at 60 min (44 IBU)

1 oz Cascade at 10 min (8 IBU)
.5 oz Simcoe at 10 min (8 IBU)

1 oz Cascade at FO
.5 oz Willamette at FO
.5 oz Simcoe at FO

1 oz Willamette DH

Please let me know if you think I am out to lunch. Thanks!

What kind of grain bill are you considering?